COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


2012 People of the Year winners are revealed

Story by Tom Kelly

Wednesday, 11th April, 2012 3:30pm

Athlone's social event of the year, the Athlone People of the Year Awards, is fast approaching and already there has been a frenzy of excitement surrounding the event, with tickets selling rapidly for the gala night on Friday, April 27, in the Radisson Blu Hotel.

The People of the Year Awards, organised by Rehab and sponsored by Athlone Town Council and the Westmeath Independent, has firmly established its place on Athlone's social calendar over the last few years so make sure you don't miss out on fantastic night's entertainment and the opportunity to honour the unsung heroes in our community.

This week the Westmeath Independent finally reveals the eight award winners, who are honoured for their outstanding contribution to Athlone and the surrounding areas, whether it's as an individual or as part of a group.

Some of the winners are household names, while others have made an impression away from the limelight. Their contribution varies from community involvement to the world of sport, from drama to charity.

What they share, though, is the fact that they have all made a real difference to this area or further afield and to the lives of those they have touched.

Athlone can be rightly proud of this year's People of the Year winners, all the more so because they were chosen by you, the readers of the Westmeath Independent. It was the public who nominated our winners in the first place because they are, after all, the people who know them best.

The event is organised by the Rehab Group and reflects that organisation's ethos. And it is fitting that the town's leading body, Athlone Town Council, is the main sponsor.

Check out our special supplement free with this week's Westmeath Independent to find out the stories behind the eight winners - Athlone Sub Aqua Club; Michael Flanagan; Garrycastle Senior Football Team; Helen Glynn; Sr Maria Hawkes; the RTÉ All Ireland Drama Festival Committee; St John's Parish Heritage Group Lecarrow and the Westmeath Ladies footballers.