Annual Athlone People of the Year Awards

The tenth annual Athlone People of the Year Awards were officially launched by Mayor of Athlone Cllr Gabrielle McFadden in the Luan Gallery in Athlone in mid February. The awards recognise those who have made outstanding contributions to their local community, either as a member of a group or as an individual.

The awards, which are sponsored by Athlone Town Council and the Westmeath Independent, will be presented at a gala ceremony in the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone on Friday, April 25, 2014

Previous overall Athlone People of the Year award winners were Donna and Joe McCaul, the late Frank Starken, Fr Shay Casey, Una Duffy, Br Gerard Cahill, South Westmeath Hospice, Mark Rohan, Helen Glynn and John Butler.

A firm staple on Athloneís social calendar, the awards night raises funds for Rehabís National Learning Network and Rehabcare services in Athlone.

Manager of National Learning Network Johnny Pettit acted as MC on the night and said the launch sets in motion the process of finding this yearís winners and said the most rewarding part of the awards was meeting and getting to know these people.

To enter a nominee simply fill the nomination coupon printed in The Westmeath Independent each week or the coupon on this webpage before the closing date of Thursday, March 20, 2014.

The main criteria for nominees is a person or organisation within Athlone and its environs who has made an outstanding contribution at a local level. Such contributions can be characterised by achievement, commitment, courage, persistence and distinction.

This year we have added a special new award, the Young Person of the Year award, which recognises the community contribution of someone from our younger generation. This award is applicable to someone attending second level education.

To make your nomination please complete the below form

Please tick relevant box:

Entries must be received on or before Thursday 20st March 2014

Click on a cover below to read in full that year's Athlone People of The Year Awards supplement

Cookies on Westmeath Independent website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does Westmeath Independent use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We donít sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message