Will new council power bloc govern South Roscommon?

Friday, 14th June, 2019 1:21pm

Will new council power bloc govern South Roscommon?

Fianna Fail's Cllr John Keogh (second from right) pictured at the recent local election count

With the AGM of the Athlone area of Roscomon County Council to take place this Monday (June 17), no agreement has yet been reached regarding the positions of chairperson and vice-chairperson for the electoral area.

Of the six councillors representing the Athlone area, three are members of the new grouping that now controls Roscommon County Council – Cllr John Keogh (FF), Cllr John Naughten (FG) and Cllr Laurence Fallon (Ind). They will be proposing Cllr Keogh for chairperson of the Athlone electoral area.

This new power bloc was formed just days after the local elections of May 24, and consists of six Fianna Fáil, two Fine Gael, and two Independent councillors. Fianna Fail's Cllr Paschal Fitzmaurice was elected cathaoirleach at Roscommon County Council's AGM on Friday June 7, with Fine Gael's Cllr Liam Callaghan as leas-cathaoirleach.

However the dynamics are a little different in the Athlone area, and it remains to be seen whether the other three local councillors – Independent councillors Tony Ward, Ivan Connaughton and Donal Kilduff – will come together to propose their own candidate for the position.

Cllr Keogh said while he hopes agreement will be reached on the issue in advance, no decision has yet been reached among all six councillors.

I hope to be nominated on the day, and I'd prefer to avoid a contest. There might be an agreement reached before the day. But I've learned from the past that things can change!” he said.


Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus