• News

Nine to contest by-election

Monday, 12th May, 2014 2:44pm
Jump to comments
Nine to contest by-election
Nine to contest by-election

The full list of candidates declared for the by-election in Longford Westmeath, to fill the seat left vacant through the death of Nicky McFadden, is now finalised at nine, following the close of nominations on Saturday last.

For the parties, the candidates are Gabrielle McFadden (Athlone), Fine Gael; Aengus O'Rourke (Athlone), Fianna Fail, Denis Leonard (Kinnegad), Labour; and Paul Hogan (Athlone), Sinn Féin.

The independent candidates are: Kevin Boxer Moran (Athlone), Donal Jackson (Athlone), John McNamara (Drumraney), James Morgan (Longford), and Brian Fagan (Mullingar).

Stay up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with a Westmeath Independent epaper subscription from €2.20*

Group Publications

Your Forum
    Cookies on Westmeath Independent website
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
    How does Westmeath Independent use cookies?
    Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
    We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
    Hide Message