COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Voting lines now open for Readers' Choice in Sports Awards

Wednesday, 10th January, 2018 10:00am

Voting lines now open for Readers' Choice in Sports Awards

The 2017 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards will take place in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel on Friday evening, January 26, 2018 (7.30pm).

All 12 monthly winners will be presented with their awards at the gala awards function. The overall winner will be chosen from the 12 monthly winners, while readers have the opportunity to cast their vote for the Readers’ Choice Award (see details below).

The Westmeath Independent Sports Awards are sponsored by the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Action Physio and Byrne Carolan Cunningham Solicitors are associate sponsors of the awards and the Westmeath Independent is grateful to all three of these local businesses for their ongoing support. Tickets for the awards night are now on sale at the Westmeath Independent offices in Athlone (phone: 090 6434300). Friends, family members and colleagues of award winners - and indeed members of the general public - are very welcome to attend the awards night. Tickets are priced at €45 each but a special offer is in place whereby people receive two free tickets when purchasing four tickets.

The overall Sports Star of the Year and Readers’ Choice Award winner will be revealed on the awards night on January 26. Both of these awards will be selected from the group of monthly winners.





Grace Halligan

Text INDO 1 to 57199

Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Joe Carmody

Text INDO 2 to 57199

Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Kolo Kiripati

Text INDO 3 to 57199

 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Kate Derwin

Text INDO 4 to 57199

 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Laura Brennan

Text INDO 5 to 57199

Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Joe Ward

Text INDO 6 to 57199

 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Brian Stack & Niall McInerney

Text INDO 7 to 57199

Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018

 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Robbie Powell & Rebecca Lowe

Text INDO 8 to 57199

Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



John Gilligan

Text INDO 9 to 57199

  Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Martin Ward

Text INDO 10 to 57199

 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Dylan Gavin

Text INDO 11 to 57199

 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



Kieran Colclough & Shane Allen

Text INDO 12 to 57199

Westmeath Independent Sports Awards 2018



To cast your vote for the Readers’ Choice Award, please text the word INDO followed by the number corresponding to the month of your selection to 57199. For example, to vote for the January winner, text INDO 1 to 57199; to vote for the February winner, text INDO 2 to 57199; and so on. The voting lines are open now and will remain open until midnight on Thursday, January 25, 2018. Text line available in ROI only; 57199 messages cost €1. Max 30 entries per mobile number per day. Standard network charges apply. You may receive promotional SMS in future. To opt out, text STOP to 57250. Helpline BDC 0818286600.