COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Westmeath name unchanged team for Tyrone test

Story by Kevin O'Neill

Wednesday, 7th March, 2012 7:30pm

WESTMEATH, fresh from victory over Galway last weekend, have named an unchanged starting team to face Tyrone in Saturday's Allianz NFL Division 2 clash at Healy Park (7pm).

The last gasp hero from the Galway game, Athlone's Paul Bannon, retains his place in Westmeath's midfield, alongside John Heslin, who scored seven points against the Tribesmen, and also helped the county under-21s into the Leinster Championship semi-final in midweek.

Both Michael Ennis and Paul Sharry have also been named in the team, but whether manager Pat Flanagan will continue with Sharry in an unfamiliar centre-back role, with Ennis in attack, is unclear.

The Westmeath team to face Tyrone is as follows: Gary Connaughton,, Michael Curley, Kieran Gavin, Kevin Maguire, Daniel McDermott, Michael Ennis, Aidan Finnan, John Heslin, Paul Bannon, Kieran Martin, Ger Egan Philip Sheridan, Alan Giles, David Glennon, Paul Sharry.

SUBS: Darren Quinn, Ronan Foley, David Gavin, Kieran Sheridan, Ben Moran, Tommy Warburton, Trevor English, Callum McCormack, John Egan, Mark Gorman, Denis Glennon.