COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


The countdown is on to Westmeath Independent Sports Awards - get your tickets now!

Tuesday, 25th February, 2014 1:02pm

The countdown is on to Westmeath Independent Sports Awards - get your tickets now!


There are only a few days left to cast your vote in this year’s Westmeath Independent Sports Awards - which take place this Friday, February 28 in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel at 7.30pm.

Tickets for the Westmeath Independent Sports Awards - sponsored by the Shamrock Lodge Hotel - are still on sale at the Westmeath Independent offices on Sean Costello Street, Athlone (for further information, phone: 090 6434300).

Friends, family members and colleagues of the award winners - and indeed the general public - are very welcome to attend the gala awards night.

The evening will kick off with a champagne and fruit punch reception on arrival at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. As the main business of the night begins, a sumptuous four-course meal will be served. 

Tickets for the gala event, hosted by respected RTE broadcaster Robbie Irwin, cost €45 each. Musical entertainment will be provided on the night by DJ Ray Reilly.

There is a special offer in place whereby people receive two free tickets if they buy four tickets. Entry to the event is by ticket only and tickets will be on sale until lunchtime on Friday.

Paddy Mullally was recently announced as the Hall of Fame award winner in this year's awards. Paddy was chosen for the award in recognition of his many years of dedicated service to the sport of basketball.

The overall winner in the 2013 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards will be announced on Friday night.

Readers have the chance to vote for the Readers’ Choice award, which will be chosen from the twelve monthly award winners. Voting lines remain open until Friday, February 28 at 12 noon.

Voting is via text message to this number: 57199. Each of the monthly award winners are assigned a number from 1 to 12, coinciding with the month in which they were chosen for an award. Voters text INDO followed by the nominee’s number to 57199.

For example, to vote for the January winner, text INDO 1 to 57199; for the February winner, text INDO 2 to 57199; and so on.

The Readers’ Choice Award winner will be announced at the awards ceremony on Friday night.

Text line available in the Republic of Ireland only. Texts cost €1. Max 30 entries per mobile number per day. Standard network charges apply. You may receive promotional SMS in future. To opt out text STOP to 57272.

The monthly award winners are listed below and the text codes to cast your vote.

January: Robert Ashe (Rugby)
To vote for Robert Ashe for the Readers’ Choice Award, text INDO 1 to 57199.
February: Andy Nevin & Michael McMahon (Soccer)
To vote for Andy Nevin & Michael McMahon for the Readers’ Choice Award, text INDO 2 to 57199.
March: St Brigid’s Senior Team (Gaelic Football)
To vote for the St Brigid’s Senior Team, text INDO 3 to 57199.
April: Kevin Maguire (Gaelic Football)
To vote for Kevin Maguire, text INDO 4 to 57199.
May: Niamh Ni Dhroma (Women’s Rugby)
To vote for Niamh Ni Dhroma, text INDO 5 to 57199.
June: Robbie Henshaw (Rugby)
To vote for Robbie Henshaw, text INDO 6 to 57199.
July: Patrick Munnelly (Rowing)
To vote for Patrick Munnelly, text INDO 7 to 57199.
August: Aisling Egan (Soccer)
To vote for Aisling Egan, text INDO 8 to 57199.
September: Ian Sweeney, Neil Harney, Garvan Broughall & Niall Scullion (Soccer)
To vote for Ian Sweeney, Neil Harney, Garvan Broughall & Niall Scullion, text INDO 9 to 57199.
October: Joe Ward (Boxing)
To vote for Joe Ward, text INDO 10 to 57199.
November: John Joyce (Boxing)
To vote for John Joyce, text INDO 11 to 57199.
December: Sinead Farrell & Heather Payne (Soccer)
To vote for Sinead Farrell and Heather Payne, text INDO 12 to 57199.

*See the special pull-out supplement on the 2013 Westmeath Independent Sports Awards in this week’s edition of the Westmeath Independent (out tomorrow, Wednesday).


Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus