COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Tyrrellspass pair return to Westmeath team as Athlone duo drop out

Saturday, 8th March, 2014 12:04am

Tyrrellspass pair return to Westmeath team as Athlone duo drop out


By Kieran Galvin 

Tyrrellspass duo Denis Glennon and Jamie Gonoud return to the Westmeath starting line-up for this Sunday’s Allianz Football League clash against Mayo at Cusack Park.

Athlone pair John Egan and Ray Connellan are the two players to lose out in the reshuffle from last Sunday’s heavy defeat away to Derry.

Glennon has been selected in the full forward line alongside Maryland's Callum McCormack and Garrycastle's Dessie Dolan.

Sunday’s Division 1 clash against 2013 All-Ireland finalists Mayo (2.30pm) will be preceded by the meeting of Westmeath and Kerry in Division 2A of the Allianz Hurling League (12.45pm).

Under-fire Westmeath hurling boss Brian Hanley has also named his team for the visit of the Kingdom.

Kieran Duncan of Southern Gaels has been named at right corner-back on the team. In recent times, it's a rare start at this level for a player from the Athlone-based club.

Listed below are the two Westmeath line ups for the double header of league action in Mullingar. 

Mayo manager James Horan has also named his team for the Westmeath clash. The team contains plenty of highly rated players such as Ger Cafferkey, Lee Keegan, Aidan O’Shea, Keith Higgins, Kevin McLoughlin and Alan Freeman.

There are four changes to the Mayo team which defeated Kerry in Castlebar last weekend. Mickey Sweeney, Kevin Keane, Donal Vaughan and Enda Varley have been drafted into the starting XV.

The Mayo team is included below.


Westmeath Senior Football Team V Mayo

1. Stephen Gallagher (St Loman’s Mullingar)

2. Steven Gilmore (St Loman’s Mullingar)

3. Kieran Gavin (Mullingar Shamrocks)

4. Kevin Maguire (Caulry)

5. James Dolan (Garrycastle)

6. John Gilligan (Ballymore)

7. Jamie Gonoud (Tyrrellspass) 

8. David Duffy (Shandonagh) 

9. Paul Sharry (Capt.) (St Loman's Mullingar) 

10. John Heslin (St Loman's Mullingar) 

11. Ger Egan (Tyrrellspass) 

12. Kieran Martin (Maryland) 

13. Callum McCormack (Maryland) 

14. Des Dolan (Garrycastle) 

15. Denis Glennon (Tyrrellspass)


Westmeath Senior Hurling Team V Kerry

1. Peter Collins (St Oliver Plunketts) 

2. Kieran Duncan (Southern Gaels) 

3. Tommy Doyle (Lough Lene Gaels)

4. Paddy Layde (St Oliver Plunketts) 

5. Shane Fagan (Castlepollard)

6. Aaron Craig (Capt.) (St Oliver Plunketts)

7. Philip Reilly (Lough Lene Gaels)

8. Ciaran Curley (St Oliver Plunketts)

9. Philip Gilsenan (Brownstown)

10. Seamus Savage (Crookedwood)

11. Derek McNicholas (Lough Lene Gaels)

12. Davy Gavin (St Oliver Plunketts)

13. Noel Conaty (Lough Lene Gaels) 

14. Alan McGrath (Clonkill) 

15. Alan Devine (Castlepollard)


Mayo SF Team V Westmeath

1. Robbie Hennelly

2. Brendan Harrison

3. Ger Cafferkey

4. Kevin Keane

5. Lee Keegan

6. Donal Vaughan

7. Colm Boyle

8. Aidan O'Shea

9. Jason Gibbons

10. Kevin McLoughlin

11. Jason Doherty

12. Keith Higgins

13. Enda Varley

14. Alan Freeman

15. Mickey Sweeney



Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus