COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Westmeath hurlers to face Laois as minor ladies prepare for the Dubs

Friday, 2nd May, 2014 3:58pm

Westmeath hurlers to face Laois as minor ladies prepare for the Dubs

Westmeath's Niall O'Brien sends over a free during last Sunday's Leinster Championship match against Antrim in Ballycastle. Picture: John McIlwaine

Westmeath hurlers are set to face a resurgent Laois outfit in their second game of the round robin section of the Leinster SHC at Cusack Park this Sunday (3pm).

Following their defeat to Antrim at Ballycastle last weekend, Brian Hanley's charges need to claim a victory on home soil to boost their chances of emerging from the round robin group.

However, it won't be easily achieved against a Laois team which performed impressively in Division 1B of the Allianz HL this year. Laois reached the League quarter-finals where they put up a creditable showing against All-Ireland champions Clare.

Laois manager Seamus Plunkett has named his starting XV for Sunday's clash with Westmeath in Mullingar.

There are three changes in personnel to the side that lost to Clare in the quarter-final of the Allianz HL last month. Conor Dunne, Patrick Whelan and Ross King all start in place of Tom Delaney, Paddy Purcell and Cha Dwyer.

At the time of writing, the Westmeath team had yet to be released.

Laois (SHC v Westmeath): Eoin Reilly; John A Delaney, Brian Campion, Brian Stapleton; Joe Fitzpatrick, Matthew Whelan, Dwane Palmer; Conor Dunne, Patrick Whelan; John Purcell, Willie Hyland, Stephen Maher; Neil Foyle, Ross King, Tommy Fitzgerald.


Other fixtures 

In other Gaelic games fixtures involving Westmeath this weekend, the county's senior camogie team face Dublin in the Irish Daily Star National Camogie League Division 3 final in Edenderry on Sunday (2.30).

Meanwhile, the Lake County's minor ladies football team face Dublin in the Leinster championship 'A' final in Clane on Monday (3.30pm).

Elsewhere, the Westmeath U-16 girls take on Wexford in the Leinster 'A' Shield final in Stradbally tomorrow (Saturday) at 2pm.





Leinster SHC: Antrim 0-23, Westmeath 2-11.

TESCO HomeGrown Ladies NFL Div. 2: Westmeath 2-16, Down 2-9.

Leinster U16 'B’ camogie shield: Westmeath 1-8, Carlow 1-5.

ACFL Div. 1: Caulry 3-12, Athlone 2-10.

ACFL Div. 2: Garrycastle 3-11, Castletown-Finea/Coole/Whitehall 1-7; The Downs 0-10, Coralstown/Kinnegad 1-11.

ACFL Div. 3: St Loman’s, Mullingar 1-14, Mullingar Shamrocks 1-13; Milltown 1-10 Moate All-Whites 1-10.

ACFL Div. 4: Castledaly 2-9, Ballymore 1-11; Maryland 3-13, Ballinagore 2-11; Tyrrellspass 3-22, Ballynacargy 1-9; Tubberclair 0-13, St Paul’s, Clonmellon 6-7.

ACFL Div. 5: Milltownpass 1-11, Killucan 1-5; Coralstown/Kinnegad 1-12, Caulry 3-9; Athlone W/O St Malachy’s SCR.

ACFL Div. 6: Loughnavalley 1-10, The Downs 5-6; St Mary’s, Rochfortbridge 0-16, Bunbrosna 2-7.

ACFL Div. 7: Ballycomoyle 0-13, Milltownpass 0-10; Castletown-Finea/Coole/Whitehall SCR, Mullingar Shamrocks W/O; Rosemount 2-11, Kilbeggan Shamrocks 0-6.

ACHL Div. 2: Delvin 3-16, Crookedwood 1-14; Castlepollard 1-23, St Brigid’s 1-5.

ACHL Div. 3: Fr Dalton's 1-6, Clonkill 4-15; ACHL Div. 5: Brownstown W/O, Fr Dalton's SCR.

Junior hurling championship: Brownstown 1-10, Fr Dalton’s 0-10; Cullion 3-14, Southern Gaels 0-12; Delvin W/O, Turin SCR; Castlepollard 0-12, Lough Lene Gaels 0-12; St Oliver Plunkett’s 2-4, Raharney 0-19; Clonkill 4-34, Crookedwood 0-4.



FRIDAY MAY 2 (7pm)


ACFL Division 3

Moate: Moate All-Whites v Mullingar Shamrocks, M McAdden.

ACHL Division 2

Clonkill: Clonkill v Crookedwood, R Cornally.

ACHL Division 3

Ballymore: Fr Dalton’s v Cullion, G Hurley



(All games 7pm unless stated)


Leinster Under-16 Ladies Football 'A' Shield Final

Stradbally: Westmeath v Wexford, 2pm Jonathan Murphy (Carlow)


ACFL Division 1

Garrycastle: Garrycastle v Tang, D Nugent; Kilbeggan: Kilbeggan Shamrocks v St Loman’s, Mullingar, P McGauran.

ACHL Division 1

Collinstown: Lough Lene Gaels v Clonkill, A Devine; Castletown-Geoghegan: Castletown-Geoghegan v St Oliver Plunkett’s, Feichin Brennan.

ACHL Division 2

Rochfortbridge: St Brigid’s v Delvin, J Weir.



(All games 3.30pm unless stated)


Leinster Senior Hurling Championship (Round Robin Round 2)

Cusack Park, Mullingar: Westmeath v Laois, 3pm Christy Browne (Galway).


Irish Daily Star National Camogie League Division 3 Final

Edenderry: Dublin v Westmeath, 2.30pm.


ACHL Division 3

Archerstown: Brownstown v Ringtown, 4pm, J Dermody

All County Football League

Division 1

Springfield: Mullingar Shamrocks v Tyrrellspass, D Maher; Drumraney: Maryland v Caulry, D McEnery;  Páirc Chiaráin: Athlone v St Loman’s, Mullingar, N Ward; Bunbrosna: Bunbrosna v Tubberclair, S Farrell

Division 2

The Downs: The Downs v St Mary’s, Rochfortbridge, J Rock; Rosemount: Rosemount v Milltownpass, S McCormack; Kinnegad: Coralstown/Kinnegad v St Malachy’s, S Carroll; Castletown-Finea: Castletown-Finea/Coole/Whitehall v Castledaly, K Gunning.

Division 3

Multyfarnham: Multyfarnham v Killucan, R Cornally

Division 7B

Ballinagore: Ballinagore v Tang, J Weldon



Leinster Minor Ladies Football Championship 'A' Final

Clane: Westmeath v Dublin, 3.30pm, Stephen McNulty (Wicklow).


Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus