• Sport

Connellan to make championship bow for Westmeath

Thursday, 15th May, 2014 10:26am
Jump to comments
Connellan to make championship bow for Westmeath

Ray Connellan in action for Westmeath against Kerry's Stephen O'Brien.

Connellan to make championship bow for Westmeath

Ray Connellan in action for Westmeath against Kerry's Stephen O'Brien.


By Kieran Galvin

Athlone's Ray Connellan will make his senior championship debut for Westmeath against Louth at Cusack Park on Saturday evening (throw-in: 7pm).

Connellan, the only newcomer to championship football in the Westmeath team, has been selected at midfield alongside David Duffy. The Athlone player impressed at both midfield and attack during Westmeath's Allianz FL campaign which ended in relegation. Now the young Coosan man has been handed his first start in the Leinster SFC.

Caulry's Damien Dolan replaces the injured Steven Gilmore at corner-back, while Kieran Gavin and John Heslin have shaken off injuries to take their places. Heslin has been named at full-forward alongside Denis Glennon and Dessie Dolan. However, it's quite likely that Connellan and Heslin will alternate between midfield and the forward line.

Meanwhile, there is also one debutant in the Louth team for Saturday evening's championship opener, with promising U21 player Patrick Reilly getting the chance to impress at wing-forward. 

Paddy Keenan will be partnered by Mick Fanning at midfield and, up front, Louth will be looking to the likes of Andy McDonnell, Shane Lennon and Derek Maguire for inspiration.


Westmeath (Leinster SFC v Louth)

  1. Darren Quinn (Tyrrellspass)
  2. Damien Dolan (Caulry)
  3. Kieran Gavin (Mullingar Shamrocks)
  4. Kevin Maguire (Caulry)
  5. Ronan Foley (Coralstown/Kinnegad)
  6. Paul Sharry (Capt., St Loman's Mullingar
  7. James Dolan (Garrycastle)
  8. David Duffy (Shandonagh)
  9. Ray Connellan (Athlone)
  10. Callum McCormack (Maryland)
  11. Ger Egan (Tyrrellspass)
  12. Kieran Martin (Maryland)
  13. Denis Glennon (Tyrrellspass)
  14. John Heslin  (St Loman's Mullingar)
  15. Des Dolan (Garrycastle)


Louth (SFC v Westmeath

Neil Gallagher; Padraig Rath, Dessie Finnegan, Gary O'Hare; John O'Brien, Derek Crilly, Adrian Reid; Paddy Keenan, Mick Fanning; Patrick Reilly, Brian White, Andy McDonnell; Declan Byrne, Shane Lennon, Derek Maguire.


Stay up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with a Westmeath Independent epaper subscription from €2.20*

Group Publications

Your Forum
    Cookies on Westmeath Independent website
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
    How does Westmeath Independent use cookies?
    Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
    We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
    Hide Message