COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Henshaw selected for tour of Argentina

Monday, 19th May, 2014 4:33pm

Henshaw selected for tour of Argentina

ATHLONE native Robbie Henshaw has been named in a 30 player Ireland rugby squad for the two Test tour of Argentina in June.  

The squad will fly to Buenos Aires on Sunday, June 1, the day after the Rabodirect Pro 12 final between Leinster and Glasgow Warriors.
The squad, which is made up of 16 forwards and 14 backs, contains four uncapped players; Munster prop James Cronin, Ulster’s Robbie Diack and Rob Herring, and Connacht scrum-half Kieran Marmion.
The first Test takes place at the Estadio Centenario in Resistancia in Chaco Province in the northeast of the country on Saturday, June 7. The second Test will be played in the Estadio José Fierro in Tucumán in North-western Argentina on Saturday, June 14. Both Tests against the Pumas will kick-off at 3.40pm local time (7.40pm Irish Time).
The Ireland squad will depart for the two Test tour on Sunday. June 1, and both Tests will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 2 with coverage starting from 7pm.

Ireland Squad for Tour of Argentina:

Forwards (16)
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 75
James Cronin (Dolphin/Munster) *
Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster) *
Iain Henderson (Ballinahinch/Ulster) 10
Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 14
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) 65
Rob Herring (Ballinahinch/Ulster) *
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 8
Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 8
Marty Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster) 5
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 2
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) 92
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 39
Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 2
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 15
Damian Varley (Garryowen/Munster) 2
Backs (14)
Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 5
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 39
Robbie Henshaw (Buccanneers/Connacht) 3
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 9
Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 5
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 54
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) *
Luke Marshall (Ballinahinch/Ulster) 5
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 26
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 27
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 54
Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro) 43
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 55
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 6
*Denotes uncapped player

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus