COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Athlone Town awarded licence for new season

Monday, 13th February, 2017 8:37pm

Athlone Town awarded licence for new season


Athlone Town have been given a licence to play in the First Division of the SSE Airtricity League.

Following a meeting of the Independent Club Licensing Committee of the Football Association of Ireland, 14 Premier Division and six First Division licences were awarded for the 2017 SSE Airtricity League season.

The following licences were awarded:

Premier Division
Bohemian FC, Bray Wanderers FC, Cork City FC, Derry City FC, Drogheda United FC, Dundalk FC, Finn Harps FC, Galway United FC, Limerick FC, Longford Town FC, Shamrock Rovers FC, Sligo Rovers FC, St Patrick's Athletic FC, Waterford FC

First Division
Athlone Town FC, Cabinteely FC, Cobh Ramblers FC, Shelbourne FC, UCD AFC, Wexford FC

Athlone Town was the subject of an independent review commissioned by the FAI after its failure to fulfil an away fixture against Waterford United last season.

In recent weeks, reports have emerged about a potential foreign investment in the club and new Portuguese coaches have been linked with the club in recent weeks.