Ireland U20 captain Alex Kendellen on the ball. Picture: INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Local trio make the cut for Ireland U-20 squad

Three Buccaneers players have been selected on the Ireland rugby squad for the upcoming U20 Six Nations Championship.

Darragh Murray from Brideswell and Ballinasloe duo Oisin McCormack and Shane Jennings are included in the squad named by Ireland head coach Richie Murphy, who is assisted by Denis Leamy and Colm Tucker.

A student at Coláiste Chiaráin in Athlone, Darragh is a brother of Connacht senior player Niall Murray. Indeed, Darragh is following in the footsteps of Niall, who has previously represented Ireland in the U20 Six Nations Championship.

McCormack generally plays as a back row forward, while Murray operates in the second row.

Jennings has also shown considerable talent in hurling and he was the man of the match award winner when Galway won the 2018 All-Ireland minor hurling final.

Munster back row forward Alex Kendellen has been appointed captain of this year's Ireland U20 squad, which is sponsored by PwC.

Ireland kick off their Six Nations campaign against Scotland on Saturday week, June 19 (kick-off 2pm), before facing hosts Wales in Round 2 on Friday, June 25 (8pm).

Murphy's side will then go head-to-head with England on Thursday, July 1 (8pm) and their Championship will conclude with ties against Italy on Wednesday, July 7 (2pm) and France on Thursday, July 13 (4.45pm).

Commenting on his squad selection, Murphy said: "We have been working hard for a number of weeks and it's an exciting time for these young players, who have the honour of representing the wider group in Cardiff. It has been a challenging year but the players have come in, worked hard and bonded well, and I have been impressed by their work-rate, commitment and application.

"We are looking forward to the opportunities over the coming weeks and are excited by the prospect of an Ireland U20s team returning to Six Nations action," he added.

Feargal O’Rourke, PwC Ireland Managing Partner, commented: "It's heartening to finally see the U20s back in action after a very challenging year. The dedication and team-work that the U20s show is always exceptional and mirrors our own values at PwC. I wish all the teams every success in Cardiff for this unique summer Six Nations tournament, especially Ireland as they look to retain the Grand Slam title they claimed in 2019."

Ireland Squad - 2021 U20 Six Nations


George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School/Queen's University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Jack Boyle (St Michael's College/UCD RFC/Leinster)

Temi Asewunmi Lasisi (CBS Enniscorthy/Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

Mark Donnelly (CBC Cork/Garryowen RFC/Munster)

Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiaráin/An Ghaeltacht/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

Lee Barron (St Michael's College/Dublin University FC/Leinster)

Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster)

Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)

Darragh Murray (Coláiste Chiaráin/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)

Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster)

Mark Morrisey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)

Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster)

Oisin McCormack (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)

Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)(Captain)

Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

Donnacha Byrne (Summerhill College/Sligo RFC/Connacht)

Jack Kelleher (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)

Daniel Okeke (Ard Scoil Rís/Shannon RFC/Munster)

Liam Bishop (Trent College/Nottingham University/IQ Rugby)


Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen's University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

Ben Murphy (Presentation College Bray/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)

Tim Corkery (Kilkenny College/UCD RFC/Leinster)

James Humphreys (Dean Close School/Queen's University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Cathal Forde (Coláiste Iognáid/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

Shane Jennings (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)

Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

Conor Rankin (Campbell College Belfast/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

Chay Mullins (SGC Filton/Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby)

Josh O'Connor (St Peter's College/UCD RFC/Leinster)

Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster)

Chris Cosgrave (St Michael's College/UCD RFC/Leinster)

Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster).