The Seán McCabe Cup, the prize for the AIB Leinster GAA Club SFC. Photo: Sportsfile.

Westmeath teams learn fate in Leinster club football draws

This year's Westmeath senior football champions will face their Laois counterparts in the AIB Leinster Club SFC quarter-finals.

This clash of the Westmeath and Laois champions is listed to take place on Sunday, December 5.

There were no Leinster club championships played in 2002 due to the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The last team to win the Leinster senior club title was Dublin’s Ballyboden St Enda’s who defeated Garrycastle in the semi-finals, before overcoming Éire Óg of Carlow in the final.

The 2021 competition will extend into 2022, with the final scheduled for January 9.

The only Westmeath club to win the Leinster senior crown was Garrycastle in 2011. The last Westmeath team to compete in the final was St Loman’s Mullingar in 2017, when edged out in dramatic and agonising fashion by Moorefield of Kildare.

The following are the six teams in contention for the 2021 Westmeath senior football title - Garrycastle, Caulry, Mullingar Shamrocks, The Downs, Coralstown/Kinnegad and defending champions St Loman's Mullingar.

The quarter-finals are St Loman's v Caulry (with the winners to play Coralstown-Kinnegad in the semi-finals), and Garrycastle v Mullingar Shamrocks (with the winners advancing to play The Downs).

In the Leinster Club Intermediate FC, the Westmeath champions will meet either Kildare or Wicklow opposition in the quarter-finals.

Tang, St Malachy's, Castledaly, Milltown, St Mary's Rochfortbridge and Milltownpass are the six teams who have qualified for the knockout stages of the Westmeath IFC.

The Leinster Club Junior FC will consist of the Senior 'B' champions of Offaly, the Senior champions of Kilkenny and the Intermediate champions of the remaining ten counties.

The Westmeath junior football champions will also have a bye into the quarter-finals, where they will meet the Dublin or Europe representatives.

The line-up for the Westmeath Junior 1 FC quarter-finals are as follows: Garrycastle ('B') v Bunbrosna, St Joseph's v St Loman's Mullingar ('B'), The Downs ('B') v Ballycomoyle and Mullingar Shamrocks ('B') v Castletown-Finea/Coole/Whitehall.

The Leinster Club Junior FC will involve the Junior champions of Westmeath, Kildare, Laois, Meath, Dublin, Carlow, Wicklow and Louth. Also taking part will be the Intermediate champions of Kilkenny & Offaly, the Intermediate runners-up of Longford, the Intermediate 'A' champions of Wexford and the Senior champions of Europe.

The draws for the 2021 AIB Leinster club football championships took place last night (Tuesday) and are as follows below.

AIB Leinster GAA Club Senior FC 2021

Round 1 (November 21)

1. Louth v Carlow

2. Longford v Wicklow

3. Kildare v Offaly

Quarter-finals (December 5)

4. Laois v Westmeath

5. Meath v Dublin

6. 1. v Wexford

7. 3. v 2

Semi-finals (December 18)

4. v 5

6. v 7

Final: January 9, 2022.

AIB Leinster Club Intermediate FC 2021

Round 1 (November 19-21)

1. Longford v Offaly

2. Meath v Louth

3. Carlow v Laois

4. Wicklow v Kildare

Quarter-finals (December 3-5)

5. 2. v Kilkenny

6. 3. v Wexford

7. Dublin v 1

8. Westmeath v 4

Semi-finals (December 17-19)

9. 5. v 6

10. 7. v 8

Final: January 15, 2022.

AIB Leinster Club Junior FC 2021

Round 1 (November 19-21, unless otherwise stated)

1. Offaly v Longford

2. Louth v Meath

3. Laois v Carlow

4. Kildare v Wicklow

5. Dublin v Europe (November 26-27)

Quarter-finals (December 3-5)

6. 5. v Westmeath

7. 3. v 4

8. Wexford v Kilkenny

9. 1. v 2

Semi-finals (December 17-19)

6. v 7

8. v 9

Final: January 14-16, 2022.