Peter Tormey of Moate CS - set for new role with the Roscommon football squad.

Westmeath duo join Rossies' management team

Two Westmeath men will be part of Anthony Cunningham’s Roscommon management team for the 2022 season.

Coosan native Noel Dunning and Moate Community School teacher Peter Tormey have been added to the Roscommon backroom team for the 2022 campaign.

Dunning is a former manager of the London football team. Now living in the Ballyforan area, Dunning has been involved with the St Aidan’s club and has a wide range of football experience.

Picture: David Maher/SPORTSFILE Photo by David Maher / SPORTSFILE

Tormey, who has represented Westmeath at all levels, has coached Moate CS teams for a number of years. He was manager of the team which reached the Leinster Schools SF ‘A’ final in 2017.

Tormey is again part of the Moate CS management team this year and they began their Leinster Schools campaign with a draw against St Mel's, Longford last week (see report in this week's Westmeath Independent).

Still playing for Bunbrosna, Tormey was on the team defeated by Castletown-Finea/Coole/Whitehall in last Saturday’s Westmeath Junior 1 football final.

Tormey was part of the Westmeath U-20 management team this year under Damien Gavin. Westmeath claimed wins over Kildare and Longford, before losing out to eventual All-Ireland champions Offaly in the Leinster semi-finals.

Peter is a Moate CS teaching colleague of Padraig Pearses and Roscommon footballer Niall Daly.

Derek Duggan, Luke Bree and Leo Tierney (goalkeeping coach) are also joining the Roscommon set-up.

Duggan was the scorer of a famous equalising point from a monstrous free in the 1991 Connacht final against Mayo, with the Rossies going to win the replay. Bree is a former Sligo player who has played for St Vincent’s in Dublin.

The new appointments come after Down native and former Carlow coach Steven Poacher departed his coaching role with Roscommon.

But Gary Flannery is remaining on as Roscommon’s strength and conditioning coach.

Wishing the new arrivals well in their roles, Roscommon GAA chairperson Brian Carroll also thanked the departing Mark Dowd, Iain Daly, Dara Bruen and Steven Poacher for their “dedication and commitment” to Roscommon.