Ciaran Lennon... the Clann na nGael man is listed as No 9 in Roscommon's team to play Dublin on Sunday.

Roscommon name team for Dublin clash

Roscommon have named their matchday squad for Sunday's All-Ireland SFC opener against Dublin.

The team and subs is: Conor Carroll (Oranmore/Maree); Conor Hussey (Michael Glaveys), Brian Stack (St Brigid's), David Murray (Padraig Pearses); Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses), Eoin McCormack (St Dominic's), Dylan Ruane (Michael Glaveys); Keith Doyle (St Dominic's), Ciaran Lennon (Clann na nGael); Ciarain Murtagh (St Faithleach's), Enda Smith (Boyle), Cian McKeon (Boyle); Ben O'Carroll (St Brigid's), Donie Smith (Boyle), Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach's).

Subs: Colm Lavin, Robbie Dolan, Colin Walsh, Ruaidhri Fallon, Niall Kilroy, Eddie Nolan, Cian Connolly, Conor Cox, Shane Cunnane, Conor Daly, Richard Hughes.

The group 3 round 1 game throws in at 4pm on Sunday in Croke Park.

There has been one personnel change since Roscommon's Connacht final defeat to Galway, with Cian McKeon, from Boyle, named among the starting line up, whilst Conor Daly drops to the bench.

Clann na nGael's Ciaran Lennon is listed as No 9.

They last met in the championship in 2019 when Dublin won a ‘Super 8’ game by 18 points. Dublin go into the All-Ireland series as Leinster champions, having won the title for the 13th successive year. Roscommon were Connacht runners-up, having lost the final to Galway.

This will be only the seventh championship game between Dublin and Roscommon. The Dubs have won the previous six.

Dublin scored a total of 6-50 against Roscommon in their last two championship meetings in 2018 and 2019.

Roscommon’s last win over Dublin in Croke Park was in the 1984 National League when they recorded a 0-8 to 0-6 victory in a Division 2 clash.

The only counties to beat Dublin in the championship since the start of 2015 were Mayo (2021) and Kerry (2022).


2019: Dublin 2-26 Roscommon 0-14 (‘Super 8s’)

2018: Dublin 4-24 Roscommon 2-16 (‘Super 8s’)

2004: Dublin 1-14 Roscommon 0-13 (Qualifiers)

1979: Dublin 0-14 Roscommon 1-10 (All-Ireland semi-final)

1912: Dublin 2-4 Roscommon 1-1 (All-Ireland semi-final)