Two changes on Westmeath team for semi-final clash with Offaly

Story by Kieran Galvin

Saturday, 13th January, 2018 6:38pm

Two changes on Westmeath team for semi-final clash with Offaly

Westmeath players gather for a pre-match huddle before last weekend's game v Laois. Photo: Denis Byrne.

There are two changes on the Westmeath team for the Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup semi-final against Offaly tomorrow (Sunday).

Gareth Carr - son of former Dublin star and manager Tom Carr - comes into the team at centre-back, with Ger Leech selected in the half forward line. Conor Slevin and James Sheerin are the two players to make way, though both are included among the subs. The bench also includes experienced defender Frank Boyle who makes a welcome return to the squad.

Having scored 3-3 in last Sunday's win over Laois, Callum McCormack is joined in the full forward line by Maryland colleague Kieran Martin and Athlone's John Egan. 

Offaly manager Stephen Wallace has also named his starting team, with talented young attacker Cian Johnson on the bench despite his impressive showing in the recent draw against Dublin, while Paddy Dunican will line out in goals in place of veteran Alan Mulhall (see team list below).

Westmeath defeated Offaly in the 2017 Leinster SFC after a replay and the counties will meet in Division 3 of this year's Allianz Football League. But first they will do battle in tomorrow's O'Byrne Cup semi-final at TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar (throw-in 2pm). In the other semi-final, Longford will face Meath in Navan. 

Westmeath team v Offaly
1. Eoin Carberry (Rosemount)
2. John Rock (Tang)
3. Sam Duncan (Milltownpass)
4. Mark McCallon (Garrycastle)
5. James Dolan (Garrycastle)
6. Gareth Carr (Shandonagh)
7. Noel Mulligan (Athlone)
8. Alan Stone (Castledaly)
9. Denis Corroon (Mullingar Shamrocks)
10. Ger Leech (Coralstown/Kinnegad)
11. Luke Loughlin (The Downs)
12. Nigel Scally (Kilbeggan Shamrocks)
13. Callum McCormack (Maryland)
14. Kieran Martin (Maryland)
15. John Egan (Athlone)
16. Kevin Fagan (Tubberclair)
17. Killian Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks)
18. Boidu Sayeh  (Rosemount)
19. Sean Lyster (St Mary's Rochfortbridge)
20. Ciaran Shanley (Shandonagh)
21. Finbarr Coyne (Milltownpass)
22. Conor Slevin (Tyrrellspass)
23. Jordan Marshment (Athlone)
24. James Sheerin (Garrycastle)
25. Frank Boyle (Killucan)
26. Alex Gardiner (Garrycastle)

Offaly team v Westmeath 
1. Paddy Dunican (Shamrocks)
2. David Brady (Edenderry)
3. Paul McConway (Tullamore)
4. Sean Pender (Edenderry)
5. David Dempsey (Ballycommon)
6. Cian Donohue (St Brigid's)
7. Declan Hogan (Tullamore)
8. Conor McNamee (Rhode)
9. Shane Nally (Ferbane)
10. Jordan Hayes (Edenderry)
11. Anton Sullivan (Rhode, captain). 
12. Joseph O'Connor (St Rynagh's)
13. Bernard Allen (Tubber) 
14. Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)
15. Sean Doyle (Edenderry)


Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus