COOKIES ON Westmeath Independent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Marist bid to make history in Leinster Schools decider

Story by Kieran Galvin

Friday, 9th March, 2018 3:02pm

Marist bid to make history in Leinster Schools decider

Marist College joint captains Kieran Colclough (left) and Patrick McGettigan, and their Naas CBS counterparts, Colm Joyce and Killian Thompson (right). Photo: John Quirke.

Marist College will be bidding to win their first Leinster Schools SF 'A' title when they face Naas CBS in the provincial final tomorrow (Saturday).

The Athlone side are appearing in their fifth final and will be hoping to finally land the coveted provincial crown.

For their part, Naas CBS are contesting their first final and are striving to become the first Kildare team to win the title since St Thomas' of Newbridge all the way back in 1923.

The winners will be the first recipients of the Bro. Bosco Cup, after the trophy was dedicated to the memory of Bro Bosco Mulhare last autumn.

If Marist can overcome their Kildare opponents, they will be the fifth Westmeath school to win this title. The previous winners from Westmeath are St Finian's College, Mullingar (ten titles), Carmelite College, Moate (six), Athlone Community College (one) and St Mary's Mullingar (one, defeating Marist in the 1983 final).

John Parker, part of the Marist management team along with Eoin Jordan and Paul Kelly, hopes the Athlone side will be well supported in Tullamore.

"We've had great support from local clubs and parents along the way and now that we're in the final, we hope that will continue," said John.

"We've had cards and well wishes from people we hadn't heard from in years. There is a great network of past pupils and many of them have said it's great to see the way the school keeps coming back and getting to finals," John added.

Eight different clubs are represented on the Marist squad - St Brigid's, Athlone, Garrycastle, Tubberclair, Castledaly, Maryland/Tang, Caulry and St Dominic's.

The Top Oil Leinster Schools Senior Football 'A' final will take place on Saturday, March 10 at Bord na Mona O'Connor Park, Tullamore (throw-in 2pm).

Marist College Panel
Anthony Johnson, Billy McDonnell, Brian Ruane, Cathal Dolan, Cian Daly, Cian McBrearty, Ciaran Sugrue, Colm Lynch, Donagh Prendergast, Eoghan Derwin, Eoin Mulvihill, Fred Kelleher, Gary Daly, Ian O'Rourke, Joe Carmody, John Duddy, Kieran Colclough (joint captain), Josh Beaumont, Keelan Connor, Mark Egan, Mark Haran, Matthew Nally, Paddy McGettigan (joint captain), Paul McGrath, Pearse Frost, Philip Monaghan, Rory Dempsey, Ross Gibbons, Ruairi Smith, Rytis Liaukevicius, Sean Dowd, Sean Scanlon, Shane Allen, Shane Cunnane, Simon Fagan, Stephen McGonagle, Stephen O'Connor, Tom O'Carroll, Tommy Glynn.
*Management team: Eoin Jordan, Paul Kelly, John Parker.

Naas CBS Panel
Aaron Deegan, Barry Cassidy, Barry Kehoe, Brian Stynes, Cathal Daly, Cian Smith, Colm Joyce, Conall O’Gallchobhair, Craig Johnson, David Morrissey, Darragh Kirwan, Eoghan Prizeman, Eoin Doyle, Ethan Cotter, Harry Carroll, Harry Houlihan, Ian Blackburne, Jack Gilligan, Jack Hamill, Jack Sargent, Joe O’Sullivan, John Lawlor, Jordan McGarr, Killian Thompson, Liam Broderick, Luca Conroy, Luke Griffin, Murray O’Byrne, Robert Hynes, Rian Monaghan, Rian Boran, Ronan Kelly, Stephen Davis, Tony O’Connor.
*Management team: Ronan Joyce (manager), Shane McGuinness (coach), Alan Cullagh (coach), Cormac Kirwan (coach).

*See this week's Westmeath Independent for an extensive preview of the final - including player profiles of the Marist College squad, and a look back on previous finals involving the Marist.


Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus