Flashback … Athlone CC were Leinster champions ten years ago

Story by Kieran Galvin

Friday, 9th March, 2018 6:06pm

Flashback … Athlone CC were Leinster champions ten years ago

The Athlone Community College panel pictured before the 2008 Leinster Schools SF 'A' final. Photo: Ann Hennessy.

Ten years ago today, Athlone Community College won the Leinster Schools Senior Football 'A' title.

Athlone CC defeated Franciscan College, Gormanston in the final played at Pearse Park, Longford on March 9, 2008. 

Padraic Cunningham from Ballinasloe, then just 15 years of age, scored a dramatic winning point as the Athlone side triumphed on a 0-10 to 0-9 scoreline.

Backed by the strong wind in the second half, Gormanston led 0-9 to 0-6 inside the final quarter and seemed destined for victory. But four unanswered points gave Athlone a sensational victory over their Meath opponents.

Captained by Tubberclair's Ian Coffey, the Athlone CC team included current inter-county players Niall Daly (Roscommon) and John Egan (Westmeath). The team was jointly managed by Chris Forde and Niall Finneran (Padraig Pearses).

Coffey was top scorer in the final with 0-4, with Caulry's Robbie Kenny scoring two points. In addition to Cunningham's winner from an acute angle in the last minute, the other scores came from Niall Daly and St Brigid's duo Darren Dolan and Eoin Sheehy.

Ironically, Athlone CC's close neighbours Marist College will be aiming to emulate the feat tomorrow (Saturday) when they take on Naas CBS in the Leinster Schools final in Tullamore.

2018 Leinster Schools Final
Athlone CC 0-10 Franciscan College, Gormanston 0-9
Athlone CC team & scorers: Joe McMahon; Ben Moran, Aonghus Hanna, Niall Byrne; Niall Daly, Declan Donohoe, Jack Byrne; Alan Fitzpatrick, Eoin Sheehy; Ian Coffey (captain), Adam Ward, John Egan; Robert Kenny, Darren Dolan, Padraic Cunningham. Subs used: John Coyne for Ward.
Rest of panel: Sean Ryan, Darragh McCormack, Ian Turley, Mark McBride, Mark McCallon, Stephen McManus, Jaydean Nicell, David McHugh, Gary Mulry, Ciaran Allen, Stephen Farrell, Cathal Duignan, John Keegan, Sean Brennan.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus