Westmeath and Dublin teams named for O'Byrne Cup decider

Story by Kieran Galvin

Friday, 18th January, 2019 3:41pm

Westmeath and Dublin teams named for O'Byrne Cup decider

Westmeath's Ger Egan in action against Dublin during the 2016 Leinster SFC final.

The Westmeath and Dublin teams have been named for the Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup final at Parnell Park tonight (Friday), throw-in 8pm.

There is one change to the Westmeath team with Joe Halligan coming in at left half-forward. Halligan was actually selected for the semi-final against Longford but was replaced by Ger Leech prior to throw-in.

For their part, Dublin have named an unchanged starting XV from their semi-final win (on penalties) over Meath.

Westmeath will be bidding to win the O'Byrne Cup for the first time since 1988 when they face All-Ireland champions Dublin.

An experimental Dublin outfit required the novel method of a penalty shoot-out to overcome old rivals Meath in their semi-final in front of over 6,000 spectators last Saturday night. Earlier on the same day, Westmeath advanced to the decider with a comfortable win over a depleted Longford side.

Westmeath were heavily defeated by Meath in last year's delayed final, but now they have another chance to claim the county's fourth O'Byrne Cup crown. The Lake County overcame Laois in the 1988 final, having previously won the competition in 1980 and 1959.

Significantly, only one Dublin player who started last Saturday night's game against Meath featured in their Championship campaign last year: Conor Mullally. Two of the subs Dublin introduced, Conor McHugh (who made the scoresheet) and Andrew McGowan did feature against Roscommon in their Super 8s game last year.

The Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup final between Westmeath and Dublin will be televised live on TG4. Coverage begins at 7.55 just before the 8pm throw-in at the Donnycarney venue.

Westmeath (starting team v Dublin)

1. Eoin Carberry (Rosemount)
2. Killian Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks)
3. Ronan Wallace (Multyfarnham)
4. Boidu Sayeh (Rosemount)
5. Noel O'Reilly (Milltownpass)
6. James Dolan (Garrycastle)
7. David Lynch (St. Malachy's)
8. Sean Flanagan (St. Loman's Mullingar)
9. Noel Mulligan (Athlone)
10. Ger Egan (Tyrrellspass)
11. Callum McCormack (Maryland)
12. Joe Halligan (Milltown)
13. Ronan O'Toole (St. Loman's Mullingar)
14. Kieran Martin (Maryland)
15. Sam Duncan (Milltownpass)

Subs: Kevin Fagan, Conor Slevin, Tommy McDaniel, Daire Conway, James Maxwell, Ger Leech, Sean Pettit, Anthony McGivney, Ned Cully, Darren Giles, Denis Corroon, Conor Dillon, Gareth Carr, Tom Molloy, Ciaran Madden, Mattie Rowden, Jamie Gonoud.

Dublin (starting team v Westmeath)

1. Andy Bunyan - Scoil Uí Chonaill
2. Nathan Doran - Clontarf
3. Seán McMahon - Raheny
4. Ciarán Smith - Lucan Sarsfields
5. Cian O'Connor - Kilmacud Crokes
6. Conor Mullally - Cuala
7. Robert McDaid - Ballyboden St. Enda's
8. Darren Gavin - Lucan Sarsfields
9. Cormac Howley - Round Towers Lusk
10. Ryan Basquel - Ballyboden St. Enda's
11. Aaron Byrne - Na Fianna
12. Seán Bugler - St. Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh
13. Stephen Smith - Skerries Harps
14. Callum Pearson - Kilmacud Crokes
15. Oisín Lynch - Fingallians

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus