Members of the Moate Town Team. Back row, L to R: John Green, Cllr Tom Farrell, Val Connaughton, Nick Linnane, Therese Kinahan, James Glynn, Joe Whelan, Michael Doyle, Thomas McCormack and Shane Lynam. Front row, L to R: Kay Bannon, Elaine Howlin, Monique Rafferty, Turlough O’Brien, Cathy Gillivan, Joe Nestor, John Galvin. Team members not pictured: Audrey Healy, Kit Gillivan, Mary Greally, Jimmy Redmond and Cllr Vinny McCormack.

Masterplan for future development of Moate adopted by town team

A masterplan designed to guide future development projects in Moate has been adopted by the Moate Town Team this week, following a number of meetings and consultation events in recent months.

The Moate Town Team was established in February, and formally adopted the masterplan for the locality on Wednesday (June 7)

The plan itself is described as providing "a broad approach to what can be achieved for Moate," and the town team intends to prioritise aspects of it which they feel will be of most immediate benefit to the people of Moate, while also developing some of the more long-term goals.

The team said it would work with other groups in the town in order to help them achieve their goals, and that it was looking to hold a series of consultations with the various groups who are already actively working to improve Moate.

It is the team's intention that they work with these groups and not against them in terms of allocation of funding or resources available.

The town team, which was established as part of the Government's Town Centre First programme, is another avenue for the funding of development projects and is also an opportunity for the community to work together as a whole.

“We believe that many projects listed in the plan will, over time, bring growth, community improvement, regeneration and employment to the heart of Moate," said Nick Linnane, chair of the Moate Town Team.

The Moate Town Centre First Plan is due to be discussed by local councillors at this Monday's June monthly meeting of the Athlone Moate Municipal District.