Danny Convey, Drumraney, is tackled by Pedro Burge, St Fintan’s Lismacaffrey.

Second-half surge secures title for Drumraney NS

Drumraney NS 5-7 St Fintan's NS, Lismacaffrey 2-10

A remarkable scoring burst of 4-1 without reply midway through the second half proved decisive as Drumraney NS came from six points down to eventually defeat St Fintan’s NS, Lismacaffrey by the same margin during the recent Cumann na mBunscol football finals in TEG Cusack Park.

The first moiety was very evenly contested, and at the end of the stipulated 20 minutes St Fintan’s led by 1-4 to 0-5. The Lismacaffrey scores came courtesy of a great solo goal from Pedro Burge in the 19th minute, while their points were equally shared between Ethan Smyth (a brace of frees) and Burge (both from play).

The winners’ five points were scored by Shane Convey, a hat-trick from Danny Convey (including two frees), and Elliot Downes.

A point from Anabelle Durkin increased the losers’ lead on the change of ends, but Danny Convey immediately levelled the contest with a goal from point-blank range. When the maroon and white-clad outfit added an unanswered 1-3 to their tally (1-2 from Smyth, including a converted free, and Durkin with the other point) they looked in control, when leading by 2-8 to 1-5 at the end of the third quarter.

However, the aforementioned 4-1 totally changed the complexion of the contest. Downes scored three of the goals, and Shane Convey also netted, with Danny Convey slotting over a free. The match scoring was wrapped up by a brace of points for Burge – one from a free – either side of a Downes white flag at the other end.

After the match, the chairman of Cumann na mBunscol in Westmeath, Derek Butler presented the cup to the winning captains, Breandán Galvin and Caoimhe Silke.

Scorers – Drumraney NS: E Downes 3-2, D Convey 1-4 (0-3f), S Convey 1-1. St Fintan’s NS: P Burge (0-1f), E Smyth (0-3f) 1-4 each, A Durkin 0-2.

Drumraney NS panel: Seán Kelly, Shane Convey, Kate Convey, Emily McDonnell, Lúcás Molloy, Lorcán Leech, Layla Fahey, Rory Callaghan, Conall Galvin, Callan Reddin, Samuel Downes, Danny Convey, Elliot Downes, Caoimhe Silke, Breandán Galvin, Cathal Kelly.

St Fintan’s NS, Lismacaffrey panel: Abner Deac, Richard Boyhan, Casey O’Prey, Kian Scally, Pedro Burge, Anabelle Durkin, Ethan Smyth, Daithí O’Hara, Frank Smith, Robyn Gaynor Brady, Pia O’Brien, Áine Tiernan, Eliza Deac, Finn Nea, Ronan Reilly, Sabrina Reilly, Kian Nea, Allan Deac, Odhran Reilly.

Referee: John Joe Brady (Milltownpass).